Jump to a section:
The Occupational Safety and Health Administrations (OSHA) Outreach Training Program is a program to train workers in the basics of safety and health hazard recognition and prevention and has been in existence for over 36 years. The curriculum includes 10 or 30 hours of actual classroom instruction developed by OSHA, but does not include time allotted for breaks or meals for the students.
Yes. The measure was passed by the 2009 legislature. The law became effective January 1, 2010.
No. This is a Nevada requirement.
Yes. Six other states also require OSHA 10 Hour Construction cards for their workers in certain situations: New York, Rhode Island, Massachusetts, Connecticut, New Hampshire, and Missouri.
No, as of 10 June 2015, the 10 and 30 Hour OSHA Construction card does not expire for the purpose of working on a construction site in the state of Nevada.
Yes, the latest version of “OSHA Training Program Requirements,” must be used. The guidelines have designated training topics (section V) for what must be covered in a 10 and 30-hour construction class. Nevada’s program will closely parallel the federal OSHA guidelines.
Visit the OSHA public website, click on the Training tab, and then click on the “Construction and General Industry training Program” link. This leads you to another webpage. Click on the “Program Guidelines” link and then select “Construction”. You can then choose to view it in PDF format or print a copy.
Yes, while some topics are mandatory, the instructor is given a variety of electives and optional topics from which they may choose in order to better tailor the program to meet specific employer requirements.
An employer can confirm if a 10 or 30-hour Cardholder is valid by going to https://www.nv1030.org/verification/ or click on the Card Verification button to search for any verified OSHA cardholders.
o The last name and card number are required.
o Issue Date is optional.
o The system can verify cards issued AFTER January 1, 2020.
o Cards issued prior to January 1, 2020, may not be verified in the system. For cards issued prior to January 1, 2020, the cardholder will need to contact their issuing trainer to facilitate verification.
The statute requires employees engaged in construction activities to receive OSHA 10 or 30 Hour Construction course completion cards or equivalent.
A construction site is any location at which construction work is being commenced or is in progress.
Construction worker means a person who actually performs physical work at a construction site that results in the construction, alteration or destruction involved in the construction project including without limitation painting and decorating; or who supervises any person engaged in that work.
The term does not include a person to the extent that the person performs or supervises another person who performs work which is conducted for the upkeep of an existing property for which a certificate of occupancy has been issued by the appropriate building inspector or other authority, and to prevent the property from degrading, to maintain the operational soundness of the property, including without limitation, by repairing the components of the property or by replacing components of the property with the same or similar components.
Go to the Outreach Trainers website. This website was established as part of an OSHA Training Institute grant. OSHA encourages all authorized outreach trainers to add their profile and training schedules to this site. This site allows individuals and organizations to search by type of training or geographically for trainers and training to assist them in meeting their training needs. OSHA refers the website to persons looking for outreach training.
In addition, check to see if the trainer has registered to conduct these classes in the Trainers section.
For a limited number of free classes offered by the State of Nevada go to the SCATS website. Please note that seating in these classes is limited.
Yes. Class size is limited to 40 students under normal circumstances. If a planned training class will exceed 40 students, the trainer must contact their Outreach Training Program Coordinator prior to the class to receive permission to hold the class and receive student cards.
Authorized trainers may use others who have topic expertise to help conduct classes. The authorized trainer must design and coordinate the course, teach more contact hours than anyone else, attend all sessions to answer questions, ensure topics are adequately covered, and document student attendance.
Yes, unless an exemption has been given by the OSHA Training Institute.
Yes, if the OSHA Training Institute has provided that organization an exemption. For a current listing of sites having authorized programs, email the OSHA Outreach Training Program Coordinator at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Instructional time must be at least 10 or 30 hours, as applicable. Breaks and lunch periods are not counted as class time.
Trainers make break classes into segments. Each segment must be at least one hour and the entire course must be completed within six months.
It normally takes 2-4 weeks for a trainer to receive student course completion cards from the appropriate OSHA Regional Training Center.
Yes; however, only under certain conditions. If a student trained in the 10 hour Construction course wants to take the 30 hour course at a later time, they must receive 20 more training hours and the earlier topics and the new topics combined satisfy the curriculum requirements of the 30 hour course.
The limitations are as follows: the same trainer must have done all of the training (the first 10 hours and the next 20 hours); all of the training must be completed, from start to finish, within six months; and the original 10 hour course completion cards must be returned to the OSHA Regional Training Center to receive the 30 hour cards.
The card will show the title of the course, the typed or printed name of the attendee, the typed or printed name of the trainer, and the class completion date. Trainers may not alter the cards or use white-out on them.
Check our authorized trainer list
Trainers must keep the following records for five years: student sign-in sheets; student addresses; copy of the documentation sent in to request cards, including a list of topics taught; the amount of time for each topic; and records which indicate the students name and the serial number of the card issued to each student.
You must contact the individual trainer who issued your card to obtain a replacement, not OSHA. It is the trainer’s responsibility to obtain replacement cards from the Regional Training Center from which they obtained them.
They must comply with all provisions of the OSHA Outreach Training Guidelines, or risk revocation of their trainer card. When requesting course completion cards, they must certify that they have complied with these guidelines and understand that they may be subject to immediate dismissal from the OSHA Outreach Training Program if the information is not true and correct and may be subject to criminal prosecution for violating federal law.
Visit our trainer registration section, fill the submission form and click the “submit” button at the bottom. Your submission will be reviewed and added to the trainer list once accepted.
Yes. The State of Nevada does not refer individuals or businesses requesting training provider information to a particular private consultant or business offering 10 and 30 Hour Construction courses for a fee. We will refer any such inquiry to OutReachTrainers.org, a website recommended by the OSHA Training Institute or to nv1030.org.
This free website was established as a result of an OSHA Training Institute grant program. The OSHA Outreach Training Program Guidelines encourage all authorized outreach trainers to add their profile and training schedules to this site. This site allows individuals and organizations to search by type of training or geographically for trainers and training to assist them in meeting their training needs.
Yes. A Nevada Revised Statute (NRS 618.383) regarding Written Workplace Safety Programs requires that all training programs be conducted and made available in a language and format that is understandable to each employee.
Not later than 15 days after being hired.
Your employer must terminate or suspend employment of any supervisor or employee who fails to present that employer with a current and valid OSHA 10 or 30 Hour card or similar training approved by the Nevada Division of Industrial Relations.
Employers would face the following OSHA penalties: $500 fine upon the first violation; $1,000 fine upon the second violation; penalty provided in NRS 618.635 as if the employee had committed a willful violation upon the third and subsequent violations.
Yes. Before a fine or any other penalty is imposed upon an employer, they have the same rights to contest it as for any other OSHA citation.
This question pertains to labor law and thus falls under the purview of the Labor Commissioner. Since the answer is dependent on specific situations, please contact one of the two Nevada Offices of the Labor Commissioner (Las Vegas (702) 486-2650 and Carson City (775) 687-4850) for further guidance.
Generally speaking, an employer may legally do so according to the Nevada Office of the Labor Commissioner. An employer may require a prospective employee to present their OSHA 10 or 30 Hour Course Completion card or proof of training prior to hiring them. In this situation, the costs associated with obtaining this training could lie with the prospective employee.
Since this question again involves labor law, employers should contact one of the two Nevada Offices of the Labor Commissioner (Las Vegas (702) 486-2650 and Carson City (775) 687-4850) for more specific guidance.
An employer only has responsibility for their own employees (no employees no responsibility). They are not responsible for employees of subcontractors under this statute.
The general contractor must comply with all requirements of the statute for their employees only.
You must have successfully completed an authorized OSHA 500 course and receive your instructor card, which expires in four years. The required prerequisites for an individual to enroll in an OSHA 500 course are 5 years of experience in construction, and completion an OSHA 510 course. For more information, contact the nearest OSHA Regional Training Center.
Contact information for other training centers can be found at the OSHA website.
Construction industry outreach trainers are authorized to conduct 10 and 30 Hour Construction courses and receive OSHA course completion cards to issue to their students.
Yes. To stay current on relevant OSHA matters, Construction outreach trainers are required to attend the OSHA 502 course “Update for Construction Industry Outreach Trainers” every four years to remain authorized. The OSHA 500 course may also be used to maintain a trainer’s authorized status.
They may no longer obtain and issue OSHA course completion cards until their authorized trainer status is reinstated. If a trainer’s authorization status has expired, the trainer has a three month grace period after their expiration date to take the OSHA 502 update course. After the three month grace period, a trainer’s authorization status may only be reinstated by retaking the OSHA 500 course.
Both Nevada and OTI require each authorized trainer to display their trainer card in a conspicuous manner at each location, where they provide an OSHA 10 or 30-Hour course. No person other than an authorized trainer with a valid card may teach these courses (guest speakers may assist; however, the authorized trainer must still be present). The card will have the instructor’s name, the OSHA Training Center where the trainer received his card, and the card’s expiration date. Authorized trainers are required to renew their cards every four years.
Yes; federal OSHA has established an anti-fraud program. The public is asked to call a new outreach fraud hotline at (847) 297-4810 to file complaints about program fraud and abuse. OSHA also has developed a new process for investigating and adjudicating complaints; and a “watch list” of outreach trainers who have received disciplinary action will be posted on OSHA’s public website.
This is a potential fraud case, and must be reported to federal OSHA, They will refer fraudulent activity to the U.S. Labor Department’s Office of Inspector General, and trainers caught falsifying information will subject to criminal prosecution.
When an authorized trainer requests your course completion card from the OSHA Regional Training Center, they must certify that they have conducted this training per the guidelines.
They also sign a document that they understand that they will be subject to immediate dismissal from the OSHA Outreach Training Program if the information they provide is not true and correct. Further, by signing the document the instructor understands that providing false information may subject them to civil and criminal penalties under Federal law, including 18 U.S.C. 1001, and section 17(g) of the Occupational Safety and Health Act, 29 U.S.C. 666(g), which provides criminal penalties for making false statements or representations in any document filed pursuant to that Act.